Some doubts about mastodon as social media

Hi, im new at mastodon, i have some opinions and doubts that i would like to share.

First, the ability to block and mute users is unhealthy for the platform, i know there are scammers and spammers, but this is the start to the path of creating echo-chambers, which makes this service not different from twitter, facebook, etc… basically all modern social media. I dont know the solution, but i believe its worth trying to find a better method.

Second, the site is mainly populated by North American users, which forces a predominant culture to manage the bias of the site, thats not healthy for diverse conversation, it only turns in another circlejerk with support to the predominant side. I know the solution is convincing more users around the world to adopt mastodon, but right now, at least in some subsites, the narrative is pro-one side.

I dont know, the principles of this platform seems good, but there is a ugly side that most people dont want to see or just ignore it.

I believe this service can be great, but right now it seems like one side subreddits… I came here looking for something better than current social media, all i found was another echo-chamber site not that different from twitter or facebook.

It’s quite disappointing.

Blocking users is my favorite feature of other SM platforms. Without Block and Mute, it would be chaos.

4 Likes

After learning more, i have seen that some servers have moderation and rules, in theory thats the “simple” way to keep things in order, but i think it can be misused like in reddit with subreddits.

After doing more research i have seen that mastodon is open source with servers managed by the users.

The community knows what is best.

I dont know if i should close this thread or leave it open in case someone wants to share their point of view.

Thanks for taking time to answer @Nate , have a nice day.

2 Likes