Posting automatically from a RSS feed

Is there a recommended option to post automatically from a RSS feed?

I have found this: GitHub - poga/rss2mastodon: publish a rss feed to mastodon. Has anyone tested it? Are there other ways?

Could be done pretty trivially with Halcy’s Mastodon.py, that’s what I’d use

or there are bot templates here -> Glitch - The Friendly, Creative Community

I use Zapier.
Use RSS as tritter and use Webhook as action.
Add Authorization header with value Bearer ~~~~

Thank you for your ideas!

About Halcy’s Mastodon.py, I am not a programmer and I’d rather use a bot that already exists.

Zapier is a good idea, and I hadn’t thought about it. However, due to the characteristics of our project, we would prefer to avoid a commercial service and go for free software / self-hosted instead.

I have found another bot… Carl Chenet / feed2toot · GitLab

I’m the author of Feed2toot, which is a Free Software, widely used and fully documented. Let me know if you have questions installing/using it.

I wrote a program called feed2exec that can call into random programs based on new items in a RSS feed. I use it in combination with the toot client to send posts into Mastodon, and it works pretty well. An example of how to setup the config is this:

feed2exec add "My site" http://example.com/blog/feed --output exec --args 'toot post "{item.title} {item.link}"'

Toot needs to be configured first, with something like:

toot login

or:

toot login_browser

if you use 2FA in your account.

Hope that helps!

@chaica @anarcat thank you for your quick replies.

I am playing with each of your approaches. I have the same questions for both:

• Does your tool work in the background once it is executed, or do I need to setup a cron task to trigger it periodically?

• Is it possible to update multiple accounts with their own feeds? The documentation mentions one pair account-feed, but it is possible to maintain multiple pairs account-feed?

It needs a cron job.