Need help with network stuff?

Hi, I am very very new to all this, but I’ve been at it for a while, and I can finally connect to my instance on my local network, but it can’t be connected to by outside networks and does not show any activity from the rest of the fediverse. I have ports 80 and 443 open, and through letsencrypt I redirect port 80 to port 443, any ideas what my problem might be? Any help is appreciated

Can you check if the default gateway is set properly on the machine running mastodon?

Hi, I am so sorry, how do I check/set this?

It depends on what kind of system your mastodon instance is running on. Can you reach anything outside of a local network from that machine?

Yes, I can. I am running it off of an raspberry pi 4, which is running ubuntu 18.04.

Can you show me how do you reach the instance from the “local network” and how from the outside?

I use the url to connect to it from the local network, I get to it from any machine on the local network, but when I use the url to connect to it from an external network it does not work.

What is an “external network”? The Internet? How does the IP address looks like if you ping _hostname_of_the_instance ?

The internet, yeah, it says destination host unreachable

Are you using “private IP addresses” for your local network? One of those

If yes, those can’t be normally reached from the outside.

1 Like

Yep, that looks like what I’m using. Any way to fix it?

There must be a gateway to the outside world, a router. It should have a public IP address like 198.51.100.25 (an example).

Then two things need to happen:

• That gateway needs to be told to forward HTTPS traffic (port 443) to the machine running Mastodon. This is usually called “port forwarding” or something, depends on the gateway’s software.
  • You need to tell Domain Name System that your.instance.name is not your private IP address 172.x.y.z but that public IP address 198.51.100.25 instead.