Introducing Mastodon Tags Explorer project

Hello everyone!

First - a tiny intro. I meet Mastodon not so long ago (like 2 months or so) and instantly felt in love with that idea and realisation. However, i can still be considered as a total noob in this whole thing so please forgive me if i broke some non-written rule or anything like that. Anyway, i decided to run my own mastodon instance dedicated to niche i’m a member of (hcxp.co) and basically i’m trying to convince as much people i can to check out and use the great initiative Mastodon is.

However, one thing bothered me from the very beginning - discoverability. As a person interested in specific topics, i was not able to look for them (or related hashtags) across all the Mastodon universe. The only way to find interesting people and instances was to browse the list of instances and choose one based on it’s public timeline and description - which is not always authoritative. I’m not sure if such lack of discovery mechanisms is on purpose or not - that’s why i asked for forgiveness in the first paragraph of this post in case i broke some rule.

Anyway - i decided to build a tool called Mastodon Tags Explorer. It listens for public timelines toots of some bigger Mastodon instances and indexes tags used on them. based on gathered data, it generates a reports for each tag, instance etc.

The project is still very young and probably lacks a lot but i’m very open to any suggestions or ideas. In first day of it’s life, i was able to finally find what i was looking for in Mastodon universe (which was kind of impossible before) so i can assume it works pretty good :slight_smile:

Feel free to reply here or write me at @mb@hcxp.co

I am new. i dont knew how i can start

I love this. :smiley:

My first thought was that it’d be cool if we could see more hashtags in the list without having to scroll. On my monitor I only see three at a time, and each box takes up a lot of space: