Concerns about the potential implications of instances being too cut off from each other

Hi, I hope this is the kind of place to put this kind of feedback.
To make things clear, I do understand that the decentralization aspect of Mastodon is one of its biggest selling points as it allows for community-level moderation and management, and I am all for the potential benefits that implies.
I see a lot of potential in this and look forward to how it may develop as a social media network.
However, I’m also worried that the current state of Mastodon prioritizes this decentralization so much that it has a lot of detrimental side effects.

For context, I currently work as a hobbyist musician and overall creative content producer who works in various different fields, and since I work on commission I like to advertise myself to any kind of audience that might be interested in my work. Unfortunately, at least four different circles that I work as an active participant in have decided to make their own separate instances, and right now, no matter what instance I choose I will have cut myself from all the other communities that are starting to form around the timelines.

In general, my concerns about Mastodon’s decentralization come from the fact that it basically encourages the formations of cliques, which is another entirely dangerous atmosphere to foster – in the past I’ve watched as clique formation has caused communities to get more and more self-contained and hostile to outsiders, often not by intent but because they’ve become so insular that they have no outside interaction with anyone.
Especially for creators, this is a really bad position to be in – it starts fostering the atmosphere that you have to limit yourself to posting content relevant to the community you’re trapped in, without any hope of crossover or ability to present yourself as someone who works in general things.